skip navigation

California Softball Coach Selected as National Coach of the Year

By Chris Fore, 01/27/21, 12:15AM PST


Sheldon High's Mary Jo Truesdale is National selection

We would like to say a nice, BIG Congratulations to one of California's own coaches for her recognition as the National Federation of High Schools Softball Coach of the Year!

Mary Jo Truesdale has served on the California Coaches Association Leadership team for some time now, and sits on the CIF Federated Council as well.   She has won more than 700 games in her distinguished career!  

Go listen to her as a podcast guest as she talks about what keeps her coaching, social media and more!

More about her prestigious award Courtesy of , USA Today

The National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) Coaches Association honored 23 coaches as 2020 coaches of the year on Monday.

According to the NFHS, the 2020 National Coaches of the Year awards recognize coaches who coached during the 2019-20 school year. The NFHS has recognized coaches in both boys and girls sports since 1982. In order to determine the winners, the NFHS has a contact in each state responsible for selecting coach award recipients. In order for a recipient to be considered for national coach of the year honors, a profile form must be completed by the coach or designee and then approved by the executive director (or designee) of the state athletic/activities association.

The girls sports recipients are:

Mary Jo Truesdale, Softball — Sheldon (Calif.)

Kevin Bordewick, Volleyball — Washburn Rural (Kan.)

Mary Beth Bourgoin, Field Hockey — Winslow (Maine)

Tim Carey, Lacrosse — Hoover (Calif.)

William Clifton, Cross Country — Middletown South (N.J.)

Anne Ellett, Dance/Spirit — Centennial (Ore.)

Stephen Estelle, Soccer — Gateway Regional (Mass.)

Carol Fromuth, Golf — St. Joseph’s Academy (Mo.)

Judith Hehs, Tennis — St. Catherine of Siena Academy (Mich.)

Donna Moir, Basketball — Sacred Heart (Ky.)

Michael Rose, Swimming and Diving — Brookfield East, (Wis.)

Willie Smith, Track and Field — Beachwood (Ohio)

This year’s national recipients for boys sports are:

Michael Bowler, Lacrosse — Rocky Point (N.Y.)

Douglas Chapman, Tennis — Somerset Berkley Regional (Mass.)

David Halligan, Soccer — Falmouth (Maine)

Douglas Hislop, Wrestling — Imbler (Ore.)

Steve Kanner, Golf — Hamilton (Ariz.)

Douglas Krecklow, Swimming and Diving — Omaha Westside (Neb.)

Ron Murphy, Baseball — Rio Rancho (N.M.)

Robert Palazzo, Track and Field — Classical (R.I.)

Gerry Pannoni, Football — South County (Va.)

Jerry Petitgoue, Basketball — Cuba City (Wis.)

Kevin Ryan, Cross Country — Bellingham (Wash.)